Route GuidesRoutes City GuidesCities Map Log in

Dark Screen for IGN Maps

Tuesday 9 January
Find a better bike route. Try our map & route-planner »

Become a supporter

Hi All, 

I’m a recent comer to Cycle Travel website & I’m finding the route planner to be a fantastic tool, big congrats to Richard & Co. I’ve been bike-packing for many many years now (mainly here in France) & I only wish I had this tool when starting out. Maybe I can hang up my paper maps now :)

I’m just starting to play around with the CT-App (Android) at the moment & I’ve got a few questions:

• On the opening page of the app (the where to? page) where one can click on the top right (flag icon), then click on more maps to choose the map style, well when I first starting using the app I had access to the IGN maps (digital & classic), no problem. Then after some time when clicking on both IGN maps the screen gives a black screen with the blue trace. Have I done something wrong here? However if I go to the “Map” icon (the page = Routes-Cities-“Map”-My Bike) as if I was planning a route & click on top right for the map selection etc. here the IGN maps are active & show perfectly. I love the where to? concept so would love to get the IGN maps back again!

• Still on the opening page on the CT app-android: I can’t seem to find the “offline maps” icon. When I go to the “Settings” menu, offline maps do not show up here. Maybe I’m not looking in the right place? Any suggestions gratefully accepted.

Of course I’m not very computer literate so anything can happen :-)

Thanks a lot for your help,

J.

Comments

Tue 9 Jan, 13:33

Jeremiah, I've just checked on my Android app and my IGN maps are working both to plan and navigate. Bear in mind I'm in Spain and have Spanish IGN maps.

I recall there being issues before with IGN maps and the licenses not updating automatically - I just can't find the thread now. Given the time of the year this may be the problem.