Route GuidesRoutes City GuidesCities Map Log in

route planning features

14 Jul 2023
Find a better bike route. Try our map & route-planner »

Become a supporter

Hi, I'm new to cycle.travel, but very excited to have found it!  I'm trying to find a nice, safe route between 2 cities that are a couple of hundred miles apart in an area I'm completely unfamiliar with.  I'm using cycle.travel on a computer.  There are two things I'd like to do but don't see how to do them.

1. Under "route summary" where it shows "busy road", "paved road", etc, I'd like to click "busy road" and see the sections of my tentative route that this applies to so that I can look at those parts more closely and decide whether I want to find an alternative.  I see how paved vs unpaved is color coded on the route, but how do I find the "busy" or "pushing" sections?

2. I'd like to see the "any", "paved" and "gravel" routes altogether on the map so that I can compare them.  Is there a way to do that on cycle.travel or would I have to export them to another app?

Thanks for any suggestions you may have, Terri

Comments

Fri 14 Jul 2023, 01:49

Oh, I see now that clicking "busy road" under "route summary" does take me to the busy road sections, but for some reason this isn't happening consistently.   Actually, a lot of the features are behaving strangely and inconsistently.  I'll try a different browser.

Fri 14 Jul 2023, 02:22
Under "route summary" where it shows "busy road", "paved road", etc, I'd like to click "busy road" and see the sections of my tentative route that this applies to so that I can look at those parts more closely and decide whether I want to find an alternative. I see how paved vs unpaved is color coded on the route, but how do I find the "busy" or "pushing" sections?

Terri, you don't say where in the world you are. That might help.