Route GuidesRoutes City GuidesCities Map Log in

Cycle route symbols

6 Dec 2022
Find a better bike route. Try our map & route-planner »

Become a supporter

Morning all!  I'm relatively new to road biking, and stumbled across this site for route planning - it is excellent.  I have some questions on the symbols used for predefined cycle routes, and was hoping for some insight into those I don't understand.

The red rectangular boxes I understand are NCN routes, with more info on sustrans.org.uk

The some of the light blue rectangular boxes are labelled 'NB', which I understand is 'National Byway'.  But some contain a number, for example '52' near Maidenhead.  What are the numbered routes, and is there a reference site for these numbered routes ?

Finally, there are dark blue boxes with Euro style gold stars, some numbered, others with letters.  Again, if someone could point me at a site that gives more detail on those routes I would be most grateful.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Comments

Tue 6 Dec 2022, 17:07

I think (nothe the use of "think"!) that the blue boxes denote designated cycle ways, not just the National Byway. Sometimes if you include the "mystery" route in your planning and click on it, CT will give the name of the route. Otherwise Google is your friend.

I only recall seeing the EV routes (EU flag) denoted with a number, not a letter but there are variations so perhaps a letter is one variation of a numbered EV route? 

Just on EV routes not all are created equal and if you visit the EV website or download its (not particularly useful) app you will see that in some areas the "route" is little more than an idea with zero infrastructure. 

The EV website now has "official" gpx files to download of the completed sections. 

In my experience CT will often not "choose" an EV route automatically - and there are normally reasons for that :-)

Wed 7 Dec 2022, 11:32

Many thanks for the reply HobbesOnTour, much appreciated!