Route GuidesRoutes City GuidesCities Map Log in

Alternative routes

Saturday 6 January
Find a better bike route. Try our map & route-planner »

Become a supporter

I am new to the app so I may be wrong here, but it seems that if I specify a destination and ask the app to give me directions to it, it will only give me one route. In other words I can't see alternatives to choose from. Is that the case?

Thanks

Comments

Sat 6 Jan, 10:22

On the Android app this appears to be the case - at least for the moment. I cannot speak for Apple.

In the "Settings" we can choose between Gravel, Night-Time, Paved only or Standard surfaces. Depending on the route CT may recalculate the original by selecting one of these.

We may, of course, add a viapoint, drag that to a different location and CT will recalculate.

The website has the option to generate several alternatives to a set destination or even "loop routes" from a set starting point, all showing simultaneously on the screen until one is selected. Of course, the website can be accessed on the browser on our phones.  

Sat 6 Jan, 13:26

Brilliant. Thanks so much. 

Thu 11 Jan, 17:51

Just to say I’ve had a few requests for a more comprehensive planning screen on the app (like the one on the website) so I’m hoping to work on that soon – with the idea that it will give the opportunity to have alternative routes like on the website.

Fri 16 Feb, 20:38

that sounds great Richard.

Tue 20 Feb, 20:27

I was a bit surprised to see that alternative routes is not an option when you have added a via-point. I guess an alternative route for a route with one viapoint would have to be a route that includes the viapoint so that would mean 2 separate calculations, 1 from start to viapoint and 2 from viapoint to end. With only 1 viapoint it would be possible, but with several it would be challenging I guess.

Fri 23 Feb, 12:53